Regional Reports Session-3

Regional Reports Session-3

Prof Joy Johnson
Vice-President Research and International,
Simon Fraser University,

Dr. Joy Johnson leads Simon Fraser University’s strategic research initiatives and facilitates international opportunities that foster research collaborations and student exchange. Building on her long-standing leadership and research experience, she works with faculty, students and staff to secure research partnerships within the community and industry.
Dr. Johnson is a leader for SFU Innovates—a university-wide strategy to inspire, develop, and support impact-driven innovation and entrepreneurship. As part of SFU’s commitment to innovation, she is responsible for developing initiatives that support students and faculty members to harness new ideas and innovations for the benefit of society.

Mrs Melissa Banks
International Education Association of Australia (IEAA) and Pro Vice Chancellor International,
James Cook University,

Melissa Banks is the Pro Vice-Chancellor International at James Cook University and Chairs the Board of Directors of James Cook University College. Melissa provides leadership and oversight of JCU’s international engagement, including partnerships and collaborations, agreements, student exchange, international student support and international student recruitment.

Melissa is the Vice President of the International Education Association Australia (IEAA), and recipient of the prestigious award for Distinguished Contribution to the Field of International Education (IEAA)

Prof Jenny Dixon
APAIE Director and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Engagement),
University of Auckland,
New Zealand 

Professor Dixon directs global engagement at the University of Auckland, along with responsibilities for alumni and development, and stakeholder relations within New Zealand. She has driven a strong focus on the Asia-Pacific region and has oversight of the  North Asia Centre for Asia-Pacific Excellence, hosted by the University. She leads University membership of APAIE, the Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU) network and is chair of the Universitas 21 Senior Leaders Group.